top of page

Book Review - The Sick Mom's Guide to Having Fun Again


I was privileged to be part of the launch team for a new book specifically written for moms with chronic illnesses. How perfect is that for me?

The Sick Mom's Guide to Having Fun Again by Jen Hardy is truly a fantastic book.

Jen Hardy has had her website, Chronically Positive Mom, for a while, where she shares her life with multiple illnesses and a large family.

Jen's website and social media support groups have helped many. But she decided it was time to write a book containing her tried and true methods to finding fun in life, even when you have a chronic illness.

She offers suggestions on how to feel less guilt and stress, including some breathing techniques for when you are stressed out.

I started trying the relaxation techniques right away and honestly they help me feel more calm and to think more clearly.

There are ideas on how to have fun with me time, your significant other, and friends. There is even a chapter on how to make going to the doctor more fun, imagine that!

These portions of the book are beneficial for anyone living with a chronic illness.

The main feature of the book though is how to enjoy your kids more and have fun with them, even when you are stuck in bed or on the couch.

There are helpful tips for kids of different ages, complete with a list of 100 fun things to do with your kids.

Throughout the book Jen gives us missions. They are not hard or difficult, they are simply designed to help us get a different mindset, a mindset that involves having fun!

Even if you are not a sick mom you could find suggestions to help you enjoy life more. As I read this book, there were many points I know would benefit any sick person. Other points I felt would be beneficial to any mom.

Of course if you are a chronically ill mom like me, you will find the most benefits from reading this book.

If you are on the fence about whether this is something you need or not, let me just share the opening words that had me completely hooked:

"This book is a love letter to all Moms who are sick and tired of being sick and tired.

You are lovable. You are worthwhile. You are a superhero to your children.

You deserve to be happy and enjoy your life!"

The Sick Mom's Guide to Having Fun Again is available on Amazon in either paperback or eBook.

{Even though I was part of the launch team, I am writing this review of my own volition and this is all my genuine thoughts and opinions.}

bottom of page