top of page

How To Encourage a Friend With a Chronic Illness


Today I had two friends show up at my door. Now normally this would have been a trigger for anxiety for me. But in this instance I’m glad they did it!

After I let them know I have been battling a virus, on top of everything else, they immediately asked what they could do. I couldn’t think of anything, but the wife mentioned there is a tea she always likes when she gets sick. So off they went to the store to get me tea, along with a promise to my boys to get them a snack.

They came back baring tea, a plant, snacks, and balloons (which my boys went gaga over). The wife promptly went to my kitchen and made me a cup of tea while we chatted.

As sweet and appreciated as these gifts were, the best part of their short visit was the scriptural encouragement they shared with me.

We read together 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 - “Therefore, we do not give up, but even if the man we are outside is wasting away, certainly the man we are inside is being renewed from day to day. For though the tribulation is momentary and light, it works out for us a glory that is of more and more surpassing greatness and is everlasting; while we keep our eyes, not on the things seen, but on the things unseen. For the things seen are temporary, but the things unseen are everlasting.”

We then read Hebrews 6:10 - “For God is not unrighteous so as to forget your work and the love you showed for his name by ministering and continuing to minister to the holy ones.”

They both told me, more than once, they don’t know exactly what I am going through but they do understand that I am struggling, living with a difficult situation.

They reminded me that Jehovah God sees all that I deal with, as well as all I do to serve him.

These scriptures and thoughts were not new to me, but I needed to be reminded of them.

I am not any better physically after their visit, but I am mentally and emotionally uplifted.

I have also recently had two different friends send me messages. One sent a scripture, the other sent a thoughtful quote. These messages meant a lot to me, if for no other reason than the fact that they thought of me and wanted to help lift my spirits.

If you have a friend with a chronic illness, could you stop by to say hello? Maybe they would prefer you called or texted first, you know your friend better than I do, so I’ll defer that to your judgment.

Maybe you could just drop something at their front door if they aren't up for company. Do they like tea, or crossword puzzles, or would they simply appreciate a heartfelt note?

Maybe you are chronically ill yourself, or have some other circumstance that prevents you from getting out much. Could you send them a message to share an encouraging scripture or quote, or just say hi and that you were thinking of them.

If you have a loved one with a chronic illness you can not cure them, and that is okay. You can however show that you care, show they are not forgotten, you can help lift their spirits and make that day a little more bearable.

bottom of page