top of page

How to Cook Spaghetti Squash in the Microwave


Life with chronic illness can make cooking healthy meals a challenge. Like a big, major challenge.

That is why I am always looking for ways to make cooking easier, more chronic life friendly if you will. In fact I started sharing some of my tips on Instagram using the tag #chroniclifehack

I know we all have different circumstances and abilities, what is easy for me may be impossible for you, and vice versa. But my hope is to get people thinking about ways to make food differently than they are used to, differently than the way everyone else does it.

One example is the much acclaimed spaghetti squash. If you follow as many food bloggers as I do you know what I'm talking about. That large squash that almost magically turns into a spaghetti like substance with just a simple scrape of a fork.

Except. They don't always talk about the first and most challenging step.

Most any recipe for spaghetti squash starts with cutting it in half. They brush this off as no big deal, as if we were talking about zucchini. But we are not talking about zucchini. The spaghetti squash is considerably bigger and has a much harder outer skin.

Cutting into a spaghetti squash was difficult and incredibly painful for me. Also considering we are talking about using a knife, it has potential to be a little dangerous too.

I managed to get it cut open, but after that I was basically wiped out for the day and the thing hadn't been cooked yet! I had to push myself through the rest of the steps and I really don't even remember what we ate with it, it's all a blur now.

I do remember it was good, both my husband and I liked it. But I knew I couldn't put myself through that again. I pretty much gave up on spaghetti squash after that.

Fast forward four years later and I came across an amazing way to make spaghetti squash, without cutting in half first! If nothing it else it was a relief to know I wasn't the only one that found that to be a difficult challenge.

I decided to add my own post about this because I learn best when there is both written instructions and some kind of visual aid. So for anyone like me, here is your simplified method for preparing and cooking a spaghetti squash. Talk about a #chroniclifehack!!!

1. Put spaghetti squash in a microwavable bowl, you can skip this, but I found the squash did leak out some so I prefer to contain the mess.

2. Cut several holes on either side of the squash. This was the most difficult step for me, but the holes don't have to go all the way through just pierce the skin enough so that the insides cook and it doesn't explode on you.

3. Microwave for a total of 15 - 20 minutes, turning squash every 3 - 5 minutes.

4. Let the squash rest for 10 minutes, it will be very hot and needs to cool some before you can safely handle it.

5. Cut the squash in half, this step is easy now that the squash is soft! Also, don't try to cut through the stem, it will still be very hard, cut around it.

6. Scoop out the seeds and the stringy middle with a spoon.

7. Scrape the inside of the squash with a fork to reveal a spaghetti like product.

8. At this point you can really do whatever you like with it, here's one option: Make a mixture of olive oil + coconut oil {this combination is a healthier and vegan alternative to melted butter} also add what spices and seasoning you like, for example: basil; parsley; oregano; thyme; rosemary; garlic powder; cayenne pepper; black pepper; sea salt; the list goes on.

9. After that, or instead of, you can add your favorite tomato sauce or pesto, some vegan parmesan, or any other topping you normally like on spaghetti!

The last step is to enjoy your meal without feeling totally worn out from cooking your food!

Please feel free to follow along on Instagram as I share more of my tips for cooking real, healthy, and mostly plant based foods. And if you have any chronic life hacks of your own I would love to hear them!

bottom of page