top of page

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars - Vegan + Gluten Free


One of my favorite, go-to desserts is my Secretly Healthy Cookies. They are delicious, healthy, easy, and did I mention DELICIOUS! But once fall arrived I was looking for way to incorporate pumpkin into recipes that I knew my family would enjoy. This led to a twist on my favorite cookies. And if those cookies weren't simple enough already, I went a step further by pouring it all in a baking dish and making them into bars. Genius, yes?! I can tell you all day long how much I liked them, but I feel the most compelling reason to try this recipe is the words of my 4 year old: “This is very good! You did a VERY good job with these!” And if he likes them chances are you will too!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

2 cups cooked chickpeas/garbanzo beans 1 cup oats ½ cup organic pumpkin puree 1 cup coconut sugar 2 teaspoons baking powder 2 teaspoons vanilla extract 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 teaspoon cinnamon ¼ teaspoon cloves ½ cup dairy free mini chocolate chips, plus more for the top Preheat oven to 350F. In a food processor add all ingredients, except the chocolate, and blend well. Add chocolate chips and stir. Pour batter into 9x9 baking dish and smooth the top until even. {Optional} Sprinkle a handful more of chocolate chips onto top and lightly press down. Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. My whole family enjoyed these very much and I hope that yours does too!

bottom of page